Wins for the Windy City

Wins for the Windy City

Comments 0

Jackie Robinson West (JRW) Little League team were named 2014 National World Series Champions.  A celebration parade will be held on Aug. 27, kicking off at 10 a.m. from Jackie Robinson Park at 105th & Morgan on the South Side; ending with a rally at 11 a.m. at Millennium Park.  This championship follows JRW’s 2013 win as Illinois State Champions (and Great Lakes Region runner-up).

Chicago area news programs featured citizens saying, “We need this!”  With 9-year-old Antonio Smith shot and killed last week and four more young adults shot last night in the same Grand Crossing neighborhood, Chicago’s need for role models for inner city youth is visceral and real.

As crime continues to shake Chicagoland, let us focus the attention of our youth on the “wins” for the Windy City – the JRW Little League champions; the home of the first black president of the United States; the premier South Side Chicago Drill Team who performed at the 2013 presidential inauguration; World Series Champion White Sox (2005); Stanley Cup Champion Blackhawks (2010 & 2013), Super Bowl Champion Chicago Bears (1986), and last but not least – “Michael’s house” – NBA Champions Chicago Bulls (six out of eight years from 1990 to 1998).

As we tune into the news of the day, let us focus on the potential for each child in our fair city.  They need our protection, support, and encouragement.  They need to hear the stories of JRW, Jordan, and Obama!